Thursday, November 17, 2016

Member Feature - Jalana Handal



Tell us a little about yourself.
I was born and raised in Texas.  I moved to IL in January 1990. I don’t recommend moving to a cold weather state in January. The mover asked for a shovel and I handed him a garden shovel…not exactly what he needed. I worked has a retail Pharmacist for almost 25 years and loved it! I’m married to a great guy, we live in Long Grove and we have 2 grown children. But, the best job I have is being “Bama” to two silly and smart little girls. 


How and when did you start quilting/sewing? 
I started sewing in middle school. My mother was always doing some type of handwork… crochet, embroidery or crafts. She sewed all my clothes as a child and I guess I got the bug too. I made some of my clothes in college but put the machine away until about 10 years ago. A friend taught me to use a rotary cutter and warned me “to press, don’t iron”. 

What are you most and least favorite parts of quilting? 
I hate to do the binding!

Favorite fabrics/designers/color palette?  
I don’t favor a particular designer or fabric line, but I do love all things big, bright and just about anything with a star!


What quilt/s are you working on now? 
I need to put the binding on Science Fair and Cannon Beach. I’ve started a wonky star quilt. 

What is on your quilting "bucket list"? 
The New Hexagon Millefiori…all English paper piecing! 

Where do you sew? How often/how long each week?
I created a sewing space in the lower level of my house. I’m constantly changing things around or adding something new.  I think I clean it more than any other room in my house. I don’t sew as often as I like (who does) but I squeeze in time when I can or when I have a deadline.





Do you tend to follow patterns or make your own designs? 
My DNA does not allow me to deviate from patterns! I do exactly what the pattern says I should do.  I’m the same with recipes  too. 



What kind of machine do you use? 
I use a Pfaff 2048 and a Baby Lock Evolution Serger. I still have my first machine, a Kenmore, which my parents gave me when I graduated from High School. My dad retrofitted an old Singer sewing table to hold the Kenmore. I also have my mother in law’s Admiral Crescent machine. My husband says she bought it used and added the electric pedal.



Tell us three things about yourself that other CLMQG members probably don't know.

  1. I completed 3 long distance (2-60 mile & 1-40 mile) walks for Breast Cancer Awareness.
  2. I rode a mule to the bottom of the Grand Canyon & back out.
  3. I took a friend’s mother to the casino in Elgin and won $3000 on a penny machine :)

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be? 
My superpower would be to speak any language in order to help people struggling to communicate. 








1 comment:

  1. It was fun reading this and getting to know you better. Did you spend the $3000 on fabric?!!!

    ReplyDelete